book review: well met

representation & visibility | None that I noticed, unless we want to say grief is shown through [redacted spoiler], distressing relationships are shown through Emily, and recovering from an accident and having PTSD symptoms are shown through April.

reader health | I couldn’t relate to the way the protagonist, in my opinion, objectified men. Other than that, I didn’t pick up on anything else harmful. The author has a great understanding and portrayal of the protagonist’s previous relationship and how it currently impacts not just her relationships but how she views the world around her and herself.

education | Other than the bare minimum about how maybe to run a renaissance faire or a book store, no.

writing style & plot | The writing was accessible and concise, definitely one of the strengths of the author. The contemporary elements were strong in that everything and everyone was believable. The protagonist’s inner and outer worlds were full. Her family, friendships, self-image, goals, and dreams were explored. She learned and grew in front of us. The downside of this for me was that reading the romance and sex scenes was like reading a friend’s text messages: cute but made me cringe. Another downside is the book is full of misunderstandings and I felt the entire time like I knew so much more than the protagonist, and not in the fun unreliable narrator way, though I guess Emily can be considered an unreliable narrator.

characters | I very much like every character, though Simon is my least favorite of the bunch. I’m really happy to see that all of the characters get a book of their own in the series!

entertainment/pleasure | I enjoyed reading it and look forward to reading the next in the series.

etc. | I rated it ⭐⭐⭐add to tbr?

Leave a comment