book review: then she was gone

note | I read this for a group read on a discord server; otherwise this would not have struck my interest.

spoilery content warnings for the novel | On the page kidnapping and imprisonment, off the page animal deaths, off the page nonconsensual insemination, off the page murder, off the page starvation, on the page suicide, and probably others I can’t recall

visibility | Gay women are technically visible and accepted with love, though they are extremely minor characters.

representation & reader health | I’m concerned about the antagonist being described as mentally ill. I wish the antagonist’s decision-making process was made more clear to the audience as involving conscious choices unrelated to any neurological or mental concerns. I think they’re a fascinating character, but I have a hard time stomaching when antagonists are boiled down to “well this person was crazy” because “crazy” isn’t why they did what they did. People who are mentally ill usually respond to perceived threats with the only choices they feel like they have, and that’s not fully supported by this narrative. And if the antagonist was antisocial enough not to view other people as living beings but as objects, I think we all would have benefitted from seeing that in the narrative.

education | I have a better understanding now of what the word “smart” means in British English regarding clothing choices, lmao.

characters | Most of the characters were fleshed out and interesting, especially as we learn about them through the biased opinions of the protagonist and then also get tidbits about who the people actually might be when the protagonist keeps an open mind. Ellie and Poppy were an Archetype that I’m just not entertained by. I also found Floyd’s relationship with Poppy’s mother extremely unbelievable.

writing style, plot, & entertainment/pleasure | I personally don’t enjoy the constant wondering and anxiety that happens in mystery/thrillers, but I liked how this author tried to trip us up at every turn. The details in the narrative that ended up not being part of the end reveals but which were still input to taunt us were, in my opinion, fun and exciting. I think this author could make a really interesting horror novel, if they decided to go in that direction, because so much of this bordered on horror for me. Also, I found the ending refreshing.

etc. | I rated it ⭐⭐⭐.5 and I wouldn’t tell you not to read it; add to tbr?

Leave a comment